Aug 6, 2017

The Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center

Aug 6, 20173:00PM
Schubert's Cello Quintet
Schubert’s Cello Quintet is a miracle of music; one of the last works that Schubert wrote, it holds an exalted place in the chamber music repertoire, and one cannot help but be awed by its mastery.  Schubert’s quintet is accompanied by an elegant string quartet by the young Beethoven, and Grieg’s cello sonata, a vivid tone painting of the composer’s beloved homeland, Norway.

Beethoven Quartet in G major for Strings, Op. 18, No. 2
Grieg Sonata in A minor for Cello and Piano, Op. 36
Schubert Quintet in C major for Two Violins, Viola, and Two Cellos, D. 956, Op. 163

 Juho Pohjonen, Piano; Jakob Koranyi, Cello; Danish String Quartet: Frederik Øland, Violin; Rune Tonsgaard Sørensen, Violin; Asbjørn Nørgaard, Viola; Fredrik Schøyen Sjölin, Cello