Aug 2, 2017

The Philadelphia Orchestra

Aug 2, 20178:00PM
Russian Festival Day 1
Stéphane Denève, conductor

Dancers from New York City Ballet 

Tchaikovsky/arr. Stokowski Andante cantabile, from String Quartet No. 1
Tchaikovsky  Selections from The Sleeping Beauty 
Musorgsky/arr. & orch. Stokowski   Boris Godunov: A Symphonic Synthesis
Tchaikovsky 1812 Overture

Performance on the Charles R. Wood Gazebo Stage

  • ESYO CHIME summer program, 7PM

The first week of The Philadelphia Orchestra’s August residency will flip tradition on its head. Typically performed as a send-off to the Orchestra on the season finale concert, Tchaikovsky’s famed 1812 Overture will be performed on Opening Night, complete with fireworks and live cannon fire, as the kick-off to the 2017 Russian Festival. 

Widely regarded as Russia’s greatest composer, Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky’s works live on today as some of the most popular classical orchestral music ever written.  Two of his most famous works can be heard on Opening Night: excerpts from his three-act story ballet The Sleeping Beauty, featuring dancers from New York City Ballet performing Peter Martins’ thrilling choreography, and the 1812 Overture. The concert will begin and end with arrangements of the Andante cantabile from Tchaikovsky’s String Quartet No. 1 for string orchestra and a Symphonic Synthesis from Musorgsky’s opera Boris Godunov by the Orchestra’s illustrious former Music Director, Leopold Stokowski.

The evening will be led by Principal Guest Conductor STÉPHANE DENÈVE, who has conducted more programs than any other guest conductor during the period since making his Philadelphia Orchestra debut in 2007, in repertoire that has spanned more than 100 works, ranging from Classical through the contemporary, including presentations with dance, theater, film, and cirque performers. Mr. Denève is also chief conductor of the Brussels Philharmonic and director of its Centre for Future Orchestra Repertoire. He recently received his third Diapason d’Or of the Year award with the Brussels Philharmonic for the Deutsche Grammophon release Pour sortir au jour, was shortlisted in 2012 for Gramophone’s Artist of the Year award, and won the prize for symphonic music at the 2013 International Classical Music Awards.